Tour de France 1904

Date: 23-07-1904
Distance: 2429 km
Classification – Road – General Classification
Departure: Montgeron (Ile-de-France), France
Arrival: Paris (Ile-de-France), France
Category UCI:
Index Tour de France 1904
Main Tour de France



The 1904 Tour de France was the second Tour de France, held from 2 to 24 July. With a route similar to its previous edition, 1903 Tour de France winner Maurice Garin seemed to have repeated his win by a small margin over Lucien Pothier, while Hippolyte Aucouturier won four of the six stages. But the race became a victim of its own success, plagued by scandals; cyclists were accused of having taken trains during the race. Twelve cyclists, including the first four of the final classification and all stage winners, were disqualified by the Union Vélocipédique Française (UVF). Henri Cornet, originally the fifth-place finisher, was awarded the victory four months after the race. The problems caused the Tour de France to be provisionally cancelled, and subsequently the 1905 Tour de France was run with different rules from the 1903 and 1904 edition. (See individual stage pages for more memo's on the 1904 Tour de France)


1 Henri Cornet  FRAin  96h 05m 55s
2 Jean-Baptiste Dortignacq  FRAat  02h 16m 14s
3 Aloïs Catteau  BELat  09h 01m 25s
4 Jean Dargassies  FRAat  13h 04m 30s
5 Julien Maîtron  FRAat  19h 06m 15s
6 Auguste Daumain  FRAat  22h 44m 36s
7 Louis Colsaet  FRAat  23h 44m 20s
8 Achille Colas  FRAat  25h 09m 50s
9 René Saget  FRAat  25h 55m 16s
10 Gustave Drioul  BELat  30h 54m 49s
11 Henri Paret  FRAat  32h 18m 39s
12 Auguste Gauthier  FRAat  33h 14m 02s
13 Albert Rist  FRAat  35h 01m 20s
14 Nicolas Damelincourt  FRAat  48h 39m 03s
15 Antoine De Flotrière  FRAat 101h 28m 52s

  Result Details:

Photo album Tour de France 1904

Click here to add a picture to the photo album

Unfortunately no photos in this album.
  Add an image