Tour de France 1905

Date: 09-07-1905
1º stage
Distance: 340 km
Road – Stage
Departure: Paris (Ile-de-France), France
Arrival: Nancy (Lorraine), France
Category UCI:
Index Tour de France 1905
Main Tour de France



After the 1904 Tour de France, some cyclists were disqualified, most notably the top four cyclists of the original overall classification, Maurice Garin, Lucien Pothier, César Garin and Hippolyte Aucouturier. Maurice Garin was originally banned for two years and Pothier for life, so they were ineligible to start the 1905 Tour de France. Of these four, only Aucouturier (who had been "warned" and had a "reprimand inflicted" on him), started the 1905 Tour. They were disqualified by the Union Vélocipédique Française, based on accusations of cheating when there were no race officials around. In 1904 Tour, it was difficult to observe the cyclists continuously, as significant portions of the race were run overnight, and the long stages made it difficult to have officials everywhere. Because these disqualifications had almost put an end to the Tour de France, the 1905 event had been changed in important ways, to make the race easier to supervise: The stages were shortened so that no night riding occurred. The number of stages increased to 11 stages, almost double from the previous year. The winner was selected on points, not time. The first cyclist to cross the finish line received 1 point. Other cyclists received one point more than the cyclist who passed the line directly before him, plus an additional point for every five minutes between them, with a maximum of ten points. In this way, a cyclist could not get more than 11 points more than the cyclist that crossed the finish line just before him. Despite the rule changes, there were still protesters among the spectators; in the first stage all riders except Jean-Baptiste Dortignacq punctured due to 125 kg of nails spread along the road. The first stage was won by Louis Trousselier. Trousselier was serving the army, and had requested his commander leave for the Tour de France; this was allowed for 24 hours. After he won the first stage and led the classification, his leave was extended until the end of the Tour. From 60 starting cyclists, only 15 cyclists reached the finish line within the time limit; 15 more reached the finish after the limit and the rest(14) took the train. The Tour organizer Desgrange wanted to stop the race, but was persuaded by the cyclists not to do so, and allowed all cyclists to continue with 75 points.


1 Louis Trousselier  FRAin  11h 25m 1.00 pt
2 Jean-Baptiste Dortignacq  FRAat 03m 2.00 pt
3 René Pottier  FRAat 04m 3.00 pt
4 Hippolyte Aucouturier  FRAat 26m 8.00 pt
5 Henri Cornet  FRAat 26m 9.00 pt
6 Augustin Ringeval  FRAat  01h 40m 20.00 pt
7 Émile Georget  FRAat  02h 40m 31.00 pt
8 Germain Fourchotte  FRAat  02h 40m 32.00 pt
9 Julien Gabory  FRAat  02h 48m 34.00 pt
10 Henri Lignon  FRAat  03h 39m 45.00 pt
11 Paul Chauvet  FRAat  03h 53m 48.00 pt
12 Elie Monge  FRAat  05h 59.00 pt
13 Eugène Ventresque  FRAat  05h 60.00 pt
14 Philippe Pautrat  FRAat  05h 08m 62.00 pt
15 Jean-Baptiste Fischer  FRAat  05h 20m 65.00 pt
16 Lucien Petit-Breton  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Maurice Chédebois  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Auguste Daumain  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Georges Sérès  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Henri Marchand  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Georges Gabriel Baamonde  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Auguste Laprée  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Julien Maîtron  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Antony Wattelier  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Auguste Théo  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Julien Lootens  BELat 75.00 pt
16 Aloïs Catteau  BELat 75.00 pt
16 Maurice Decaup  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Clovis Lacroix  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Martin Soulié  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Emile Pinchaud  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Camille Fily  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Léon Leygoute  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Pierre Desvages  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Jules Chosson  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Joseph Delporte  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Charles Habert  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Georges Pasquier  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Maurice Carrère  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Gustave Guillarme  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Henri Richard  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Francis Gouspy  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Fernand Lallement  FRAat 75.00 pt
16 Henri Pépin de Gontaud  FRAat 75.00 pt

Not finished

  Jules Méchin Did Not FinishFRA
  Léon Riche Did Not FinishFRA
  Félix Bernard Did Not FinishFRA
  Charles Prévost Did Not FinishFRA
  Jean Dargassies Did Not FinishFRA
  Noël Prévost Did Not FinishFRA
  Marcel Morvan Did Not FinishFRA
  Antoine Perrichon Did Not FinishFRA
  Léon Habets Did Not FinishFRA
  Louis Lavalette Did Not FinishFRA
  Henri Vigne Did Not FinishFRA
  Edouard Grandsire Did Not FinishFRA
  Edouard Wattelier Did Not FinishFRA
  Paul Trippier Did Not FinishFRA
  Jean Ruffin Did Not FinishFRA
  Jean Gauban Did Not FinishFRA
  Result Details:

Photo album Tour de France 1905

Click here to add a picture to the photo album

Unfortunately no photos in this album.
  Add an image